Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Hello from NorCal!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hello from NorCal!

I'm running the 90 trial period that was offered with my Pit Barrel Cooker I was "allowed" to gift myself for my birthday / Father's Day present. I have been to this site often and have absorbed tons of good info and recipes, so I figure I will let this 90 day run it's course and then take the plunge into "real" membership.

My name is Damon, and I am, unsurprisingly, an avid fan of outdoor cooking, grilling, and smoking. I also run the indoor kitchen almost exclusively. Three places I am the boss. My garage, my kitchen, and my backyard. With the addition of the PBC I can finally get rid of the crappy smoker I have been using for the last several years. It will round out the dual fuel side by side grill I use constantly.

In addition to those habits I am a chilihead, and grow my own peppers from mild to superhots. I have about 50 plants this year from the unimposing Anaheim to Habaneros, Ghosts, Scotch Bonnets, and Carolina Reapers. I use them in cooking, salsas, sauces, and pastes. This year I will smoke some for powders as well.

I cook just about anything, but my baby backs are my most requested item from guests. I've always been a low and slow guy, I guess other people just don't have the patience. But a get together at my place usually means a full day of prep and a full day of cooking. I don't think most people understand what it takes to do a large gathering the right way. No store bought side dishes in my house. And sure, we all know it's work, but it's work I love to put in to see the end result and the smiling faces.