Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How long should wood dry?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How long should wood dry?

I cut down a cherry tree today and thought I'd use it to cut it into chunks of smokewood. Since I've no experience in that matter: How long does the wood need to dry? Does it have to dry at all?

Won't take long if you cut it into chunks, that's for sure. How long though, that's the tricky part. "They" say 25% moisture or thereabouts is good for burning. But if you're using chunks and it smokes fine and doesn't bubble and hiss much, then you're good, might even be fine as soon as you cut it, hard to say. If you're using a log burner and using straight logs, then you want to make sure its' in the 25% range or thereabouts for best results and good heat, and a green tree in firewood sized pieces could take 6mo+.

Comment

What type of unit are you using it in? I cut a cherry tree a few years ago and still am using small pieces for my Vision Kamado and have some larger pieces still left. I was using some as soon as I cut the tree down and noticed that without seasoning, it was very strong and left a lot of residue in the Vision grill. I was just excited and didn't want to wait the six warm months it takes to really be ready. If you cut it down because parts or all of the tree was dead, you may not have to season, at all. I have a peach tree in the back yard that has been losing big limbs for a couple of years. I can cut those parts off and use them right away.

Comment

• Nils Feller
        Nils Feller commented
        Editing a comment
        I'm going to use it in a Weber Kettle and a PBC.

I always try an stick with wood that was cut a year ago, or so...

Comment