Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

I know there is no such thing as a stupid question on AR, but here goes one anyway

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I know there is no such thing as a stupid question on AR, but here goes one anyway

I'll start with the question, and then move on to the explanation. Do perfectly good wood chunks lose their flavor as they get older?

I've been smoking on and off for about 3 years on my WSM. Not as much as I'd like to, so I'm trying to remedy that. When I first started smoking, I bought several pounds of Oak and Hickory wood chunks. 3 years later, I still have a few bags left. They're all sealed up air tight. And they're not dried out at all. So, can wood just... lost flavor over time? Like I said, I'm starting to get into outdoor cooking again, and I have no problem buying new wood chunks if that's what I should do.

As always, thanks for your help. I hope that one day I can finally give advice instead of just asking for it.

disclaimer. I am no expert...

It is my experience that the dryer, not a matter of age, the wood the less flavor it imparts into the meat, however I could have been under the influence during that experience.

As long as the wood isn't beginning to decay or grow fungus, use it. let us know!

Comment

• Smoking77
      Smoking77 commented
      Editing a comment
      Plenty of decay and fungus in my garage, but not on the wood. Thanks!

The short answer is yes. Let your nose be the guide. If you open some up and it still has a strong smell then it'll probably give you good flavor. If the smell is weak or non-existent then you still have a good fuel but not much flavor.

Comment

• Smoking77
      Smoking77 commented
      Editing a comment
      Very helpful. Thanks.

• Bkhuna