Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Sticks or briquettes and sticks?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Sticks or briquettes and sticks?

So I have a Horizon 20”classic. I am fairly new to smoking and am still learning the ropes. I know this can be a sensitive topic but is straight stick burning the way to go or using briquettes and wood combo? I have tried to be a straight stick burner (except for overnight cooks where I use a charcoal basket with briquettes and wood chunks). Sometimes I feel I may be over smoking going with only wood. I enjoy the fire management but looking for what people are getting the best results doing. Any advice would be appreciated.

I liked having a bed of charcoal to place my splits on. I've run solid smoke on sausage for the duration of the cook with awesome results.

Ya know it's stinkin' threads like this that MAKE me miss having an offset. (No victimness being practiced in this response, whatsoever.)

Comment

I would go with straight wood. As long as you keep a good fire, you should not over smoke the food. Sometimes it can get long and our fires can suffer, flavors released when a fire is not burning well will give you bitter tasting BBQ.

There is certainly nothing wrong with using charcoal, it is easier and has a different flavor that some like and some do not. That is up to the folks you are feeding.

For me personally, nothing beats solid wood, the whole time. That being said, most of the time I am smoking, I am using lump and chucks in a Kamado.

Comment

I usually start my OKJ Bandera with a chimney of charcoal and then use straight spits the rest of the cook. The charcoal is mainly to get the smoker up to temp and they are easier to get started for me and then they light the splits...