Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Wood smoke too bitter

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Wood smoke too bitter

I have a question. My name is Eddie Herrington from Flowood Mississippi and i'm brand new at this smoking meat. I have just finished building a RF smoker and fired it for the first time today. I smoked three chickens just to try, and they were way to smoky. almost bitter. I used apple and hickory for wood. What I did was started thefire good and then added the wood. about one hour into the cook, the smoke stopped so I added more. the smoke got real thick and the outcome was bad.
    so, when you see the smoke stop, what do you do?

eddie1960 I moved your post to the Logs channel here where it fits better. I titled your post "wood smoke too bitter", this is in an effort to keep it organized and searchable in the future, as Jon mentions, so it doesn't get buried somewhere hard to find in the future.