Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Shopping for new temp controller

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Shopping for new temp controller

I know some of you will say a temperature controller isn’t needed for a Big Green Egg, but I’ve been using a Stoker for many years now. I find it extermly useful so I can leave the house for the day or cooking overnight, without worry. Unfortunately the Stoker has stopped working properly, it ruined my last two cooks by running the fan open loop. Just wondering what other Kamado owners here are using, there are now so many choices since I first got mine.

Smobot ..... http://www.smobot.com/

Comment

• EdF
      EdF commented
      Editing a comment
      Strong proponent here! This one is just like replacing yourself flicking the daisy wheel by doing it for you. Very low energy consumption, etc. I'll post a pit temp history for ribs below.

• Henrik
      Henrik commented
      Editing a comment
      Same here, love the smobot, it's awesome!

• Oak Smoke
      Oak Smoke commented
      Editing a comment
      + 1 on Smobot. It doesn't have a fan and doesn't need one. Wifi works great, it will normally keep my Kamado within 7 deg F of the set temp all day or night. The two food probes with their alarms are so nice to have. I just don't have a single complaint.

Very interesting, this regulates the damper rather than using a fan!

Comment

• EdF
      EdF commented
      Editing a comment
      Very effective!

I just got a bbq guru pit Viper. Can’t say how it works cause FireBoard is out of their control cables. But Spinaker uses this setup. So hopefully he can chime in and help you out.

Comment