Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

my first brisket experience -- in the winter, on my new Bronco

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

my first brisket experience -- in the winter, on my new Bronco

A word of caution: I’m new to this, and the information here is meant to serve as data for other folks in the hopes that it may benefit them the way others’ posts have benefitted me in my own efforts to learn the art and science of smoking.

I’ve never cooked or smoked brisket before and don’t personally know anyone who has smoked brisket. This website and these forums were my only guide. I followed the https://amazingribs.com/tested-recip...t-texas-style/ recipe.

A big thanks to everyone on this forum who posted their experiences with brisket on the Bronco and their advice. I’ve been smoking for a few years now, started with a Pit Barrel Cooker, was frustrated with my inability to control temps so I purchased a Camp Chef Woodwind 36". Really loved the consistent outcomes, but we found we really missed the smokey flavor the PBC infused into the meat.

The Bronco, thus far, is the perfect answer for me. I love my ability to really dial in temps (I definitely have to play around with it to keep it where I want it, but it *works*) and I love the incredible flavor imparted by the charcoal and the wood chips (I want to try wood chunks when I can find them somewhere in stock).

So here’s how my first brisket went on my new Bronco. Previously on this Bronco I’ve smoked three beer can chickens (one smoke, they were together) and I followed the Amazingribs guide for a double-smoked ham, which my wife loves to pick up when they’re on sale and have me follow that recipe.

Some general notes on conditions during the smoke: