Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Need help with an entry level offset smoker

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Need help with an entry level offset smoker

My son has a Kettle with both a SNS and a Vortex. He has been smoking for several years (he started with a real cheap bullet smoker bought on line) and now wants to enter into the offset world. He asked me about an offset stick burner that would be around $1000.00 or so. I have no experience with an offset other that a real cheap one many years ago from a big box store and I did not know how to use it. That was well before YouTube and AmazingRibs,com. What offsets are in this price range that are not junk. I told him if money was not an issue, then maybe a LSG. How about an Old Country Brazos or an Oklahoma Joe ? Thank you in advance for your expert advice.

https://kbq.us/ are real popular around here.

Comment

• Purc
      Purc commented
      Editing a comment
      Thank you about the KBQ, it's more than his current budget but it's worth considering.

I’m interested in the answers you get. I added a stick burner last summer and was eyeing the $1000 range and to me it seemed like no man’s land. COS abound in the $400-700 range. Then it seemed like you’re up to $1700 for a KBQ or well constructed offsets made with quality materials. Didn’t know about the old country bravos that actually looks pretty good at first glance.

I ended up getting a OKJ Highland and put about $350 of mods in it. It’s not welded and the firebox burned all of its paint off right away but I actually like it a lot. Junk it may be

Comment

Also, while the KBQ is above $1k, it's not that far and you might want to keep an eye on FB Marketplace and Craigslist for a used version (and here of course).

Comment