Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Leaking Lids on Horizon Smoker

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Leaking Lids on Horizon Smoker

I'm new to the Pit and have a burning question. (pun intended) I recently bought a Horizon Marshall offset and was excited to finally receive it. I did alot of research and decided on this one because of the great reviews on the craftsmanship and quality. I read that the lids on the fire box and cooking chamber were tight and would make smoke and heat management better. I was rather disappointed to see large gaps at the upper and lower edges of both lids. Upon firing it up for the seasoning I was even more disappointed to see how much smoke was escaping from areas where I didn't think it should. It leaked just as much as the COS Oklahoma Joe that I bought at Walmart for a fifth of the price. My question is, is this normal? Or should I contact the company for some sort of explanation or recourse? I like the smoker but thought by spending the big money I'd get something better than this. Any advice?

Welcome to the Pit! I’m not a stick-burner guy, but just based on what you wrote, I’d give the company a chance to make it right. Call them!

Comment

Welcome from Indiana.

For what you just spent I’m guessing they will answer the phone and try to help you make it right. Always call the manufacture first and give them the chance to explain and help before going public with the negatives.

Comment

Welcome to The Pit EJ Burnz! We're happy to have you, and thank you for the support.