Welcome!

This is a membership forum. As a guest, you can click around a bit. View 5 pages for free. If you would like to participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

There are 4 page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Hello from Portland, Oregon!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hello from Portland, Oregon!

Well, I seem to have not posted here when I first signed up; allow me to rectify my oversight!

I'm a supervisor at Costco; I've been with Costco for 14 years, started way back during college and stayed on after I graduated. Great company to have a career with!

I learned what good BBQ was when I visited my friends in Austin and went to Franklins. Quite an experience and the food was like nothing I had tried here in Oregon. When I got home I realized that no commercial enterprise in the Pdx area would come close, and so I decided to make it myself. I did an internet search and found this site and started reading and experimenting, but never joined. Years later, I had developed my skills and added thermometers, SnS, and other tools. My BBQ was improving steadily, and I was enjoying both the process and end results. The only thing I didn't have was a good cook book. Which bothered me. I like books, particularly when cooking, because a tiny phone screen just don't cut the mustard. I realized I should buy Meatheads book; cuz it is a wealth of knowledge and recipes, and the site has been a huge (free) resource for me. And with the cookbook cameI got my free trial to the pit

I learned on a 22" Weber kettle (still my favorite cooker), and have bought a PBC secondhand off Craigslist, and was gifted a gently used Traeger by my father-in-law (haven't used it beyond cleaning and a trial run but boy is it noisy compared to the Weber!). Someday I hope to get a real stick burning smoker. When that happens I'll post lots of pictures