Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Greetings y'all from NW Arkansas!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Greetings y'all from NW Arkansas!

My name is Brent, and I'm an amateur BBQ cook in the Northwest Arkansas area. I picked the hobby up from a friend about 10 years ago, and have been a fan of AmazingRibs for a lot of those years. Life took a few turns a while back and the smoker ended up parked for a few years. This past weekend I rolled her out again and scraped the rust off of my skills and my smoker and tried a couple of racks of ribs.

I've joined up with the Pitmaster Club because those skills didn't just automatically return, not that I was ever an expert. Did a couple of competitions and placed middle of the road. I'm not looking to compete beyond the friendly neighborhood level, but I do want to put the best meat on the table that I can. So here I am.

I'm hoping to find myself in a friendly community where I can find help that doesn't judge for stupid questions or look down on a guy that can't necessarily afford top of the line gear. This looks like the place. I'm just a regular middle-aged working stiff whose family loves his BBQ and I want to make it the best I can.

I look forward to getting to know a few folks and learning a ton about stepping up my technique. This weekend's ribs may have only been a 6 out of 10, but they were enough to re-light my fire and love for the hobby and all aspects of it. I have agreed to do a small competition locally with no prize money, just a people's choice judging to benefit charity. I have until October 19th to prepare, practice, and upgrade some accessories.

So, good to be here. Thanks for reading this.

Happy smoking!

Brent