Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Hello from Italy!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hello from Italy!

Hey everyone, my name is Davide (I go by David among non-Italians, it's just easier), I'm from Italy and I'm a total newbie to outdoor cooking. I'm a pastry chef by trade, I've worked in fine dining both in Italy and the UK, and last year I opened a small deli-style take-away food shop (think ravioli and lasagna, not sliced meats) in the Italian hills where I was born.

I've been cooking most of my meat at home using sous vide for years (in addition to professionally, obviously), without ever really considering grilling or barbecuing. I found out about Meathead and AR when they first collaborated with ChefSteps a while back (comparing pork ribs cooked both styles): I started poring over the website and ultimately got hooked, even from a purely theoretical, food-science-y point of view. (Incidentally, I find it very interesting that this community is currently going through the exact opposite path of coming to terms with sous vide. I've been learning a lot just by reading the public comments on the website.)

Shortly after that I had my first taste of "American" BBQ, or as close to that as you can get in London, anyway, and even just that was enough to blow my silly little Italian mind. The closest I got to a proper experience is probably the Arrogant Swine in Brooklyn about a year ago (props to the staff, who charmingly put up with a random dude coming in at 5 PM on a Tuesday in November and demanding meat...). I dream of making a barbecue-themed (and whiskey-, and country ham-, and seafood-, and...) pilgrimage to the Southern US, but with a new business getting off the ground the reality of no time and no money has me beat. For now.