Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Camp Chef Smoke Vault 24" burn-in starting now.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Camp Chef Smoke Vault 24" burn-in starting now.

Here it is:

Coupla dings in it, made it a little tight for the upper shelves, but for $100, I can't really complain too much.

I'll give it an hour or so, see how temps look, then maybe throw on some wood chunks, fill the water pan (it's empty right now) and maybe throw on a bologna chub for this evening.

Here's the damage:

OK, so.... I've never done this before.

It's been about, 35-40 minutes since I threw wood chunks in there. They are just sitting on top of the metal plate which is directly over the burner, the water pan is above that.

How long does it take for it to start smoking? I mean, I kinda think I can convince myself I can smell some minimal smoke, even think I smell a little maple smell (these are maple chunks), but I've quickly peeked twice and I don't see any smoke, I don't see any smoldering or blackening of the wood chunks I can see.

When should they start smoking, or am I doing something wrong? Do I need to turn it up?

Comment

• Donw
      Donw commented
      Editing a comment
      200 is quite low to start any combustion in the wood. I would take a propane torch to an edge of the wood chunks to start the smoke process in the wood itself.

• DogFaced PonySoldier
      DogFaced PonySoldier commented
      Editing a comment
      OK, good to know, I'll go pull that tray out a bit and see if I can get them started. Maybe I should have gone with wood chips instead of chunks? I thought I had read that most guys preferred to use the chunks, but I could be wrong.

• Sid P
      Sid P commented
      Editing a comment