Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Propane and cold weather

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Propane and cold weather

Since I got my new griddle I've been cooking on it everyday. The other day the flame was weak and it didn't get as hot as it usually does. So I figure I must have run down the tank. No worries, I had bought a second tank. Hooked it up and nothing. Our weather for the past week has been 10F during the day and below 0 at night, which coupled with the strong winds have put us with a WCF of -14F. I'm new to propane, does cold weather affect it, and what do you die hard outdoor cookers do in the winter? I see they have heated blankets for the tanks. Is this some accessory I now need?

I do remember during my smoking days that bic lighters don't work well in the cold. Nor my lighter for the charcoal chimney for that matter. Try sticking the tank by your "vent" and see if that helps....
    Last edited by HawkerXP; January 16, 2020, 07:27 PM.

Comment

• ComfortablyNumb
      ComfortablyNumb commented
      Editing a comment
      I don't know what to say....I'm usually told to stick it up my vent, not by it!