Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Kingsford vs Royal Oak Briquettes

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Kingsford vs Royal Oak Briquettes

Kingsford is still 2 18lb bags for 19.99. .56 per lb. Royal Oak is a 15.4lb bag for 4.99 or .32 per lb. Any reason not to go with the Royal Oak rather than waiting until the Kingsford is 2 18/b for 9.99 or .28 per lb. I have no experience with using Royal Oak.

I'm cooking as I type this with some Royal Oak briquettes - I bought one of those $5 15lb bags recently just to try it. It definitely throws off sparks and does not last as long as some other brands I've tried, and I have read stories on here about debris other than charcoal being in the bag. However, the price is certainly right, and I'm gonna use this bag up until I get the KBB on sale again.

Comment

KBB Pro is on sale at Costco, twin 18# bags for $18.99. Royal Oak just doesn’t work well for me.

Comment

I am not crazy about anything Royal Oak except for their Chef's Choice brand of charcoal that they sell to restaurants, I like it better than the Kingsford blue or the professional. Just my humble opinion of course, your mileage may vary!

Comment

The Royal Oak I tried that had the ridges in it wasn't worth a crap. All my dad used growing up was Royal Oak, but it wasn't "ridged" it just was like a regular briquette like Kingsford.

Comment