Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Minion method - why no bad smoke?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Minion method - why no bad smoke?

I am wondering why the minion method doesn't produce "bad" smoke. It seems to me as the fresh charcoal ignites and burns, it should not produce good smoke. I am new to the OKJ Branco, and was pleasantly surprised with how well it worked in regards to the smoke and length of burn. I just can't wrap my head around how it works.

I don't completely understand either, but I think it has to do with the "fresh" charcoal being heated up before it ignites. All I really know is that it works great in my Bronco Pro.

Comment

I was using the minion method on my WSM before I joined AR and learned about bad smoke. Maybe ot is like Steve R. says, I don't know. I just know it works lol

Comment

You got the basically correct answer in the first response by Steve R.
        Only vapors will burn, and the ambient heat in the fire "chamber" preheats the unburned coals to near the vapor temperature of the surface molecules. Once the ignition source reaches the preheated coals they go to full or near full ignition in short order rather than slowly getting to ignition temp which is what causes the "bad" smoke.

Comment

I’d always wondered the same thing myself. Over the years, no matter if I was smoking or grilling, I’d use lighter fluid and let the coals get hot first. I never did any type of minion method, thinking I’d get too much bad smoke in my food. It wasn’t until joining AR that I stopped doing that. Good question!

P.S. Congrats on the Bronco. All of us who have responded to you so far….have one.

Comment

• Uncle Bob
            Uncle Bob commented
            Editing a comment
            One?

• mrteddyprincess