Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Question about the results from electric smokers

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Question about the results from electric smokers

At https://amazingribs.com/ratings-revi...fuel-is-right/ Meathead says:

"You can use sawdust and wood chips with some electric grills, and get a nice smoke flavor, but it is different from other smoke flavors because the wood smolders at a low temp. Electric smokers can make smoke from wood, but the burn temp is so low that the flavor is very different than gas or charcoal smokers, and in my mind, inferior for most foods. ... I recommend electric grills and smokers only for people in buildings where gas and charcoal are not allowed."

So here's my question. I have a Masterbuilt electric smoker. I love it because my Auber PID provides super-accurate "set it and forget it" convenience.

I've added the "Mailbox Mod" to provide the smoke, which comes from pellets in an "Amazen" pellet smoker tray. So the pellets are properly burning, as opposed to wood in the smoker being coerced to make smoke by the heating element.

So does the Mailbox mod take the electric setup back into the results category presumed from other smokers?​
    Attached Files

Well I don’t know about how to grade the results but it’s sure a creative modification. I have never seen that before. Hey, if it works, it works! Smoke on Pitmaster!

Comment

• KillerNoms
      KillerNoms commented
      Editing a comment
      It IS clever, and I wish I could take credit for it. I don't know who invented it, but it's been widely known among Masterbuilt electric smoker owners for years. Just google "masterbuilt mailbox mod" and you'll find a proper wad of details, videos and such.

Who would have thought... a mailbox!