Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

amature BBQ competition - first time competing

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

amature BBQ competition - first time competing

I am going to enter a BBQ competition hosted by a BBQ supply store near my home. The cook will be chicken and ribs. No rules or guides have been posted yet. I have been smoking meat for more than eight years now, but I have never competed. Any tips?

Stick with you plan, stay out of your head and have fun! I can't wait to here about the event!

Comment

Sounds like fun!

Comment

Imagine all the judges are naked! Seriously though, maybe first time out just imagine your cooking for friends, enjoy!

Comment

These small unsanctioned events can be a blast! Once you have the rules and details that will give you a little more guidance on what you may or may not need to do... ie.. garnish... etc...

Big thing is just go and do your thing that you are used to doing, have some fun, and make some new BBQ friends!

Only downside to a comp like that in my opinion is that often times the judges aren't certified... so you may end up with one judge that loves fall off the bone ribs and Sweet Baby Ray's BBQ sauce and you may have another that likes a more traditional competition type rib...

Comment

Have Fun!

Comment

cook what you would for your fam and friends. ameature contests are usually very local flavors. If your neighbors and coworkers like it, chances are the judges will too (they might end up being one)

Comment

I agree with what everyone else said, I might add, do a practice cook at home, get your timing down for turn in times. Look at some utube on the box/presentation. In KCBS it is a big part of the score. Good luck.

Comment

• MeatMonster
                  MeatMonster commented