Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Thoughts on PBC temp concerns

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Thoughts on PBC temp concerns

First of all, I should preface this by stating two things: This is just my opinion, and I am a newbie to the higher arts of smoking food.

I have had a PBC for a few months, and have had nothing but roaring success with it. I have cooked ribs, pork butt, brisket, ribs, chicken, ribs, leeks, ribs, and corn on it, and everything has been incredible. Like many around here, I have absorbed the dedication to thermometers and monitoring temps espoused on this site, and as soon as I started using the PBC, I monitored temps, fussed with thermometer probes, etc. And almost every cook has been a little haywire, with temps higher than I thought I wanted, or lower, or whatever. And I would chase them around with cracked lids and tin foiled rebar. But I re-watched some of Noah's videos recently, and decided to just stop. For my last few cooks I have just lit the coals as directed, hung (or placed) the food, and let the magic happen. And everything came out amazing.

My point is that I don't yet know what I am doing. For those of you that have been doing this kind of cooking for a long time, there is a lot of informed and effective tweaking to be done in any cooker. But there are others like me, who have right from the beginning started trying to apply everything they have learned here. But I think I am going to just roll with the PBC, and let it teach me for a while. So my advice to those like me, who don't actually know what they are doing, is to simply follow the directions for a few cooks and see what happens.

Just my 2¢