Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Newbie with PBC

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Newbie with PBC

Hi Everyone, I am totally new to BBQ'ing and new to using charcoal in fact. Always had a gas grill. I just bought a PB yesterday and I also bought a meat thermometer but not one I can leave in the barrel. Do I need one for that to monitor the temps inside instead of the meat? If so what should I get?
    Thanks,
    Clark

Once you get the lighting procedure down you really don't need it unless you try to operate multiple temps such as for chicken. Personally I only monitor the pit temp, when it is right then I know when to start checking the meat with a hand held.

Comment

Hi John, thanks for the reply. So when I get this PB and I cook ribs on it what temp should the barrel be when they are cooking. I thought this barrel was kind of a set it and forget it to a point.

Comment

• mtford72
        mtford72 commented
        Editing a comment
        Hi Clark - I put up a post yesterday on beef ribs here: http://pitmaster.amazingribs.com/for...ck-ribs-on-pbc
        It includes a temperature graph for the cook. I've found that the key is getting that initial temperature spike - read the post on lighting the pbc. Then it will trail back down to the manufacturers target range of 270 - 310 and stay there for much of the cook. If you don't get the initial spike of over 370, it will fall back to the mid / low 200's - which could greatly change the duration of the cook. As all the manufacturers videos use time, things could go way off if preparing for guests, etc.