Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Brisket touches coals

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Brisket touches coals

I'm new to the Pitmaster Club. If there are other posts addressing this question I apologize in advance. The brisket I'm using in my PBC is long enough that it touches the coals. Should I separate the flat and point and hang them separately?

Part of the greatness of the PBC is the juices hitting the coals. I would trim the brisket a little more to prevent this and keep the scraps for braising for pot roast, carne guisada, etc.

Comment

• Jbone
      Jbone commented
      Editing a comment
      Thank you!!

• Duanessmokedmeats
      Duanessmokedmeats commented
      Editing a comment
      Trim it and hang it for a snacky-snack...

Hook it a second time part way down one side, so it hangs on an angle. It will shrink up before too long and you can go back to hanging from the point. At 160 - 170 you will hit the stall, then put your grate in and wrap w/paper or foil n go to probe tender. 190 - 205. Luv me some Brisky! Prob my fav.

Comment

• Jbone
      Jbone commented
      Editing a comment
      Thank you, Alan!

• Panhead John
      Panhead John commented
      Editing a comment
      I have a Bronco, but that’s what I’d do too….wut he sed…👆👆👆👆

It's fine. I've had multiple occasions where a few inches was laying on the coals. You can't tell it ever happened.

Comment

• Jbone
      Jbone commented
      Editing a comment
      Thank you!

• Huskee
      Huskee commented
      Editing a comment
      Jerod, when this happens do you put the point down toward the coals (more fat, more insulation), or flat?

• Jerod Broussard
      Jerod Broussard commented
      Editing a comment