Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Masterbuilt 800 vs. Char-Griller 980

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Masterbuilt 800 vs. Char-Griller 980

Hi everyone! I'm new here, but I've been smoking on my Weber kettle for the past 3 years or so. I've finally decided that I enjoy smoking enough and do it frequently enough to justify upgrading to a dedicated-use smoker.

When I started smoking, I had always imagined one day getting an offset. However, I have a 5 month old infant, and am not expecting to have a ton of free time, so I let this dream go and decided to settle on something a little more practical. After spending a lot of time looking into different types of pellet/electric smokers, I've decided that I would like to pick up a gravity feed charcoal smoker.

I'm torn between the Char-Griller 980 and the Masterbuilt gravity series. Space isn't really a deciding factor for me - the smallest MB gravity smoker (or the next size up) is plenty big for me, let alone the 980. What's more important to me is functionality and reliability. I've read a lot about how the initial MB line had some issues, but from what I can tell the team went about fixing these issues in the second generation of the gravity family. I will also say that I don't really care about the griddle that the MB 800 comes with; I don't really see myself using it much, as I have a decent indoor griddle. I'm not going to avoid the MB 800 because of it or anything; it just won't make any impact on my decision.

Any advice would be very welcome and appreciated! Thank you all for your time!

This video is probably the best comparison. Personally, I prefer my MB560 because of the square box which creates more space.

Comment

• davibf11
      davibf11 commented
      Editing a comment