Welcome!

This is a membership forum. As a guest, you can click around a bit. View 5 pages for free. If you are a member you must log in now. If you would like to participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

There are 4 page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Southern hospitality

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Southern hospitality

Greetings Pitmasters!

I currently live in Savannah, GA & I'm looking to improve my grilling repertoire (usually just grill burgers, steak & the occasional kebab).

I'm an engineer and came across Meathead's book "the science of great barbeque and grilling" which I have enjoyed this far. It all makes sense! Thank you for explaining it so well!

I'm also currently looking for a new grill. The bottom literally dropped out of my 7 yr old char grill gasser last month. (Sigh. RIP little grill. You were faithful and dependable all these years). I do like the Weber Genesis II you guys recommend, but I'm not able to drop a grand on a grill right now (got a toddler at home, so a grill is not one of our financial priorities). I can maybe justify spending around $500... Any recommendations for a good gas grill in that range? (Or maybe you can point me to the part of this site that might have that info? I need to explore it some more).

I did try Meathead's recommendation and went to one of my local big box stores to see if they would sell a floor model at a discount, but they would not.

Anyway... Thanks in advance for any recommendations. I look forward to gleaning wisdom from you seasoned BBQ vets.

Cheers,
    Shem

Welcome to the pit, enjoy the Wikipedia of BBQ. There are a lot of cookers in that price range. Need to decide what you want to go with Charcoal - Gas - Pellet Grill ect, Goog luck

Comment

I would start with the Weber gas grills that meet your budget and go from there.

Comment

Greetings and welcome from North Carolina..