Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Learned a lot in a few days

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Learned a lot in a few days

Decided to join since I learned a lot just browsing here, and read about half the Meathead book this week. For a couple bucks a month, I cannot afford to not join. My wife got me a portable electric smoker two years ago, and that got me started. I currently have the 13 year old Weber Genesis hooked up to natural gas, and the portable smoker. I am thinking a Komodo next, since I hate cleaning and they seem to have that issue handled. Ribs, Brats, and Pork butt is what I smoke mostly. I am still very new at this, but I am glad that at age 55, I found a hobby that I can enjoy for the rest of my life. Cooking better food than what I get at most restaurants.
    Hi from MN.

As for the name, I like Surly beer and Vikings football, and watching the Vikings usually makes me Surly, so it fits.

Welcome from the Colorado ... and based on your name explanation, I’ll refrain from replying to your posts in what little bad Norwegian I can barely remember.

Comment

Welcome! And enjoy your time here! A great group of people willing to share and help!

Comment

Welcome from Louisiana!

Comment

Welcome from Alabama! Glad to have you onboard.

I have two Genesis gas grills at the moment, and those suckers last forever if you maintain them and replace a part every now and then. I think a kamado will be a great addition to your arsenal. Not sure they are exactly "cleaning free" however! They tend to produce less ash as they are very fuel efficient, and most people burn only lump charcoal, which also reduces ash. You will still need to empty/clean out the ash after a cook, and scrub down the grates now and then.