Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Hi u all

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hi u all

I‘m Christoph from Switzerland, near Zurich. I have been cooking on my old rusty Offset Stick Burner since good 15 years. Started in a time where here nobody even knew what a Offset Smoker is on a German made one. At a time when on the 24.12 somebody was cooking late in the dark and producing smoke in his garden, poeple where bound to call the police more likely then anything else. My smoker had me and still has me on my feets ...getting the heat right. One thing is for sure, i keep on learning as my cooks are getting better and i am coming to a mild family and neighborhood fame. To learn is also one my main motivations to be here with you all on AmazingRibs, besides my general fascination with outdoor cooking.

Mr. Christoph, it is great to see some genuine cooking mastery of the age old art of BBQ'ing with wood. Everyone likes the ease of charcoal, gas and pellets but the true masters are using wood and having to watch the temps and coals all the time to manage a good long cook. To an old timer like me there is nothing better than the taste of natural wood caressing the outside of my meat making a super tasty bark and a beautiful pink smoke ring on the inside cover. I am curious, what types of woods do you have there in the mountains? What cuts of beef and pork do you have to source locally? What have your neighbors been asking for... sounds like you have a following like the Pied Piper. Would like to see some pictures of this cooker if you have one. Great to here this old tradition being carried out across the Pond.

Comment

Welcome from Maryland. We are glad that you are here.

Comment

Welcome from Jackson Hole Wyoming

Comment

Welcome to The Pit.