Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Hello from West Michigan

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hello from West Michigan

I have always been a huge fan of eating BBQ. I used to be an over-the-road truck driver and got to experience BBQ from all across the country. My favorite style is definitely Texas BBQ, Central Texas BBQ to be exact with brisket being my favorite meat.

Where I live, there are not many BBQ joints and the couple that are around are just not very good. So, when I was in Lowe's a couple of Saturdays ago and spotted a Masterbuilt electric smoker for half price, I decided that it was time to dive in and try to make some delicious BBQ for myself. I immediately found myself heading to Amazon and ordering a couple of books on the subject as well. The two books that I decided on were Meathead's book and Aaron Franklin's book. I obviously discovered this website from Meathead's book since it came with a 3-month trial subscription.

I signed up for the trial membership and made my first post Saturday night. I had bought 3 racks of spareribs on Saturday and really had no clue how to trim it up in STL ribs. I did some searching online and gave it a go. After I had them trimmed up, I posted a picture of what I had. I wanted some advice on how I did and if there was anything that I should have done differently. I ended up with quite a few responses and everyone in the community was so nice and friendly. Having such a positive experience with the other members on the website made me want to go ahead and purchase an annual subscription even though I still had 87 days left in my trial. So, that is what I did. I am now a full member of the website. I look forward to getting to know some of you and learning a ton about how to make great BBQ.