Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Greetings from Indiana

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Greetings from Indiana

Hi, my name is Brian, and I live in Fishers, IN, with my wife, Amanda and three kids. Two in middle school and one in college. I teach high school chemistry and physics. I've been attempting BBQ since 1996, when on the way to Florida, I stopped at a roadside mom and pop BBQ stand off I-65 in Alabama. I had never tasted anything like it. I checked out every book I could get on BBQ from the local library and read both of them. I spent a lot of years making mediocre BBQ, but my friends and family never complained.

I have been cooking on a cheap offset smoker for 20 years. It's walls are a bit thicker than ones you can buy today. I modified it with a plate to turn it into a reverse flow offset, and I've got the temps under control pretty well, but man, does that thing go through charcoal. Long story short I'll be upgrading soon to a competition backyard wood burner offset in the coming months.

This summer I began keeping a journal of my cooks and am pleased with the improvements. This site has been huge in helping me learn new techniques and improving old techniques. My friends and family thank you all for your good advice. I joined the web site because I believe it's one of the best online resources I've seen for BBQ enthusiasts.

Thank you for reading my introduction, and I look forward to learning from all of you!

Brian
    Last edited by mrteddyprincess; September 5, 2018, 07:37 PM.

Welcome from Fort Wayne!

Comment