Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Cowboy charcoal

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Cowboy charcoal

Good morning all, I have a question about the Cowboy brand lump charcoal. I was given a bag yesterday to try. I have never used this brand before and figured I would give it a shot.
    Just added some to rekindle the Weber, and I went out to find a burning tar substance? It looked exactly like the tar that the guys at work seal the roads with, but without the rancid road tar smell. It burned off to ash and now nothing? I haven't seen anything like this from charcoal before. You could have used a spoon to ladle it up,but it was only in a small area and it was actually liquid mass. Now everything seems fine, just burning coals?
    Kinda leery about cooking on it, should of stayed with my Kingsford!
    Welcoming any input ya,all might have.
    Last edited by Jeffrey R; August 20, 2018, 07:14 AM.

I have used a few bags of Cowboy lump charcoal and like it, a store close to me has it. I have never had a problem like you describe.

Comment

I don't buy Cowboy after several bad bags. In my experience, you really never know what you are getting in one of those bags. I have found concrete and rocks in the bag, not a huge deal, but then I found chunks of plastic. That is where I drew the line. I also tended to find un-carbonized pieces of wood, dust and tiny pieces of lump. Not worth it, IMHO.

Comment

• EdF
        EdF commented
        Editing a comment
        How long ago? They changed their supplier a few years ago, and the quality improved drastically. (around 2014-5)

• Spinaker
        Spinaker commented
        Editing a comment