Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Newbie from the Appalachian foothills of north Georgia

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Newbie from the Appalachian foothills of north Georgia

Hi folks...I'm a newbie to the site and a newbie to smoking anything besides tobacco. Growing up Dad always had the charcoal grill going, and as an adult, being a true red blooded, testosterone filled American male I always have had a grill...but between a busy life with a bit of lazainess thrown in I've always had a gas grill.

Well, my last grill died, and since retiring my life isn't as busy (though I am still lazy) and the wife nixed another gas grill, wanting charcoal. I started looking around and charcoal grills were either cheap sheet metal garbage or too expensive for someone on Social Security. The same was true of smokers I found. A grand and up is outside of my budget.

And then I saw it. I was in the garden center at my local Walmart (yes, Walmart...hush up) and there, beside the cheapo Char-Broill that would rust out in about three days (IF I kept it covered) was a thing of beauty...An Oklahoma Joe Highland for just a tad over $250.00. It's not quarter inch steel but its not sheet metal either.

I know, I know...Its not a Yoder or a Lang, but you know what else its not? A thousand bucks and up, that's what. I did a few tweaks and its now doing a good job, and even with the tweaks I've still spent under $375.00 (people actually spend $50.00-75.00 on a coal basket and $90.00+ for a tuning plate? Why? I made both for under $25.00 in steel and a couple hours easy work.)

Anyway, I've got it smokin' right along and now here I am, hoping to learn to turn out some Good Eats with it.