Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

First time Wagyu Brisket! Help.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

First time Wagyu Brisket! Help.

Hello Everyone! Finally joined here after a year or so of following along... love this site and have gotten so much out of it, happy to finally pony up! I'm a backyard newbie/amateur in East Hampton, NY and consistently get rave reviews on the baby backs I smoke 3-2-1 style on my WSM. I've smoked three briskets in my life, and all came out pretty darn good... not entirely the best ever, but great flavor, texture and tenderness. Followed Aaron Franklin's simple dalmatian rub recipe/techniques each time, wrapped in foil at the stall, and used Post Oak chunks for 10-11 hours. So far so good. BUT I NEED YOUR HELP! For Memorial Day weekend I splurged on a SRF 14 pound gold wagyu brisket and just invited 25 people over to eat it with us. I'm a little nervous and don't want to switch up my technique too much, but I've been reading about injecting, wrapping in butcher paper instead of foil, competition-style rubs, temperatures anywhere between 225 and 300... I'm all over the map and wondering if I should switch it up given this ultra-premium cut of meat or just go with what worked the last 3 times. Am I overthinking things? Any advice or things I should consider different about smoking a Wagyu Brisket? Oh, and I'm planning to smoke some baby backs as back up plan, can't go wrong there . Looking forward to getting to you know you all! THANK YOU!