Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Greetings from a FOB in (occupied) Northern Virginia...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Greetings from a FOB in (occupied) Northern Virginia...

Good evening all,

I've learned so much from Meathead and the other articles these past few weeks that I decided this endeavor needed my humble financial support. I've got an XL Big Green Egg that I love, and that I've been experimenting with for the past nine months. (Incidentally, with $4 in firebricks one can easily create the direct/indirect zones on the BGE; I know this was one of the reviewer's drawbacks about the BGE.)

I'm looking forward to watching the seminars and learning more about the science of BBQ and grilling. I've already applied many of Meathead's lessons in my last couple of cooks, the ones I did over the Thanksgiving weekend for my family and inlaws. For Thanksgiving, I smoked a 16 pound turkey with an overnight wet brine, injection the day of the cook, and seasoning. At 250 with cherry and applewood, it took several hours but everyone said it was the best they'd had. Even though that was last Thursday, we just finished the last smoked turkey sandwich last night.

On Saturday, I smoked three racks of St Louis cut ribs from Costco, a modified 3-2-1 recipe. Dry brined overnight in the fridge (with mustard as a binder), then a coating of Killer Hog's "The BBQ Rub," pulled at three hours, wrapped in foil with brown sugar and honey, put back on for 1.5 hours, then pulled, rested a little bit, and finally coated with Rendezvous BBQ sauce for the final 15 minutes. All in all my family, toddlers, and inlaws all loved it.

Thanks to all here, and especially to Meathead and the mods for their knowledge. It doesn't seem like many here use the BGE!