Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

A Mountaineer in WV

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

A Mountaineer in WV

Hello from WV, I love Amazingribs.com, then bought the Meathead book and decided to see what the pit is all about. Every time I pointed the browser to amazing ribs I would see the ad for the pitmaster club which says something like "if we have helped you up your game, consider joining the pitmaster club" Since you have definitely helped me "up my game" it is only fair that I pony up.

I'm a former civil engineer who changed careers and went to dental school with a wife and 4 kids. I love all things outdoors. My story with cooking outdoors goes as follows:

My dad is color blind, can't tell the difference between various shades of red and brown. Growing up he always overcooked everything on the grill, sometimes completely black, and gave the excuse that he just couldn't tell when something was done because of his colored blindness. So as soon as my brother and I were able, we started doing the grilling and the quality improved somewhat. Now I know that instead of taking over the grilling we should have just gotten Dad a thermometer, of course I'm pretty sure that Dad was also just using the colored blindness as an excuse to get out of cooking which he hates, he pulled the same thing with being "allergic" to grass, (which he is mildly) so that my Mom cuts the grass for him (well now that we are out of the house). Anyway, I grew up grilling pork steaks in Missouri, just not very good ones.