Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Hello from Southeast Pennsylvania

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hello from Southeast Pennsylvania

I live in the suburbs just north of Philadelphia. I've been cooking meat on the grill for many years, everything from portable propane grills to sticks over a camp fire to big propane grills. I gave up the propane after the last grill's innards disintegrated. I switched to charcoal on a second-hand Weber kettle.

I read Lolis Elie's Smokestack Lightning just after helping a friend make ribs from live pig to plate, and it came together for me. I started slow-cooking on my kettle. Roast chickens, big bone-in chops, some peppers. Magic stuff.

I got a bonus at Christmas, and instead of a new fly rod that will spend most of the year in a rack, a rifle that never sees the deer stand or a radio that rarely warms the antenna, I decided to get a big grill. I wanted a kamado, and it was a tossup between the Egg and the Primo. The Egg has more support and a bigger community, but the Primo had a much better way to cook indirectly. Now I have a giant Primo Oval on the back patio and I'm learning. This slow and low stuff is tasty and it isn't as hard as it looks. I don't buy the kids popsicles any more because I need space in the freezer for roasters, ribs and shoulders when they go on sale.

A great big hearty welcome to you! This is an awesome forum! Hey, what's the weather like in your neck of the woods? Tim

Comment

Originally posted by SoCalTim View Post
      A great big hearty welcome to you! This is an awesome forum! Hey, what's the weather like in your neck of the woods? Tim
      Thanks!
      Right now, overcast and about 18. It will warm up today to 39 or so and melt the snow.

Comment

• Hazi