Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Greetings from Weatherford, Oklahoma

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Greetings from Weatherford, Oklahoma

Hello everyone,
    My name is Robin Griffeath and I currently live in Weatherford, Oklahoma. I am an Assistant Professor of Music at Southwestern Oklahoma State University where I primarily teach Applied Voice and music history. I am originally from Madison, Wisconsin. My wife, Kristin, and I have lived in Minneapolis, MN, Tucson, AZ, and Kansas City, MO as we completed our doctorates. I have always loved grilling and barbecue, but it is only in the last year that the subject has become an obsession I currently use a Thermapen MK4 and a Webber Charcoal Grill, but I am in the process of doing significant research on a step-up grill. My current short list is as follows: the M1 Grill from MGrill, the Webber Summit Charcoal, and the Memphis Pro Pellet Grill. I am seriously conflicted about pellet grills. I have two young children (a 2-year old son, and a 4-year old daughter), and meal preparation time and cook time are always in short supply. The attraction of the pellet grills as you might guess is simplicity and speed while not sacrificing smoke. I am not a huge fan of gas grills as I find charcoal and wood more romantic. This loss of romance is another worry I have about pellet grills. The Memphis Pro has a lot of bells and whistles that appeal to the tech geek in me, but I have this nagging gremlin on my shoulder that gets nervous with all of that technology wrapped up in a grill that I want to use for a long time. I can't seem to keep my iphone functioning correctly for two years, and the idea of a grill that is as expensive as the Memphis Pro, breaking down quickly, is more than I can handle. I am