Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Hello from Austin, TX; the BBQ capital of the world..or is it the music capital.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hello from Austin, TX; the BBQ capital of the world..or is it the music capital.

I saw this site a couple of weeks ago and was impressed. Then I saw that a book was about to come out. I was hooked on the site so I bought the book. The last science book I bought was on baking bread and that opened my eyes to a lot of things so I figured this would be informative as well considering what I had already seen. I have been doing briskets for about 10 years now. The first summer I did so much brisket and experimenting that my daughters do not like BBQ that much anymore. I understand because I was raised on a chicken and since I was 13 I have not had a piece of chicken..or eggs in their natural form. I have been chicken free for almost 53 years. Cows however must smell their cousins on my breath because they run whenever I get close. I have a BGE and picked up a Traeger last year. Not real happy about that purchase. I like a heavier smoke taste.

BTW Meathead....LOVE THE BOOK!!! Thanks.

Uhhh, all you guys in North Carolina, Kansas City, Memphis, etc. just kidding OK............but we are coming on strong and fast.

Welcome!

Austin can arguably claim to be the music capital, but it is also the allergy capital of the world.

Comment

• hcforde
      hcforde commented
      Editing a comment
      Allergies!!!, My first year down here I had a protracted cold. I finally HAD to go to the doctor who then proceeded to prescribe for me $500.00 worth of allergy medicine and told me had I waited longer I would have been admitted to the hospital. Luckily, my student insurance paid for the ordeal.