Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Always Smoking in Baltimore

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Always Smoking in Baltimore

I finally bought a Pitmaster Membership, as an early birthday present, and wanted to introduce myself. A word of warning, I love to write, so this might get annoying.

My name is John. I was raised an inner city kid in Baltimore City. I'm 36, married with a 1 year old daughter. And I've been smoking meat for about 10 years now.

About 11 years ago, a friend invited me out to a BBQ restaurant for dinner. Being an incredibly urban inner city kid, I wasn't even sure what BBQ was, and declined the invite. About 2 weeks later, the company I worked for had a local BBQ restaurant cater a lunch ... and right there, in the middle of a pulled pork sandwich, I found heaven.

After spending the next year or so trying every type of BBQ I could find, I decided to officially try to smoke something myself. I bought an incredibly cheap--and kind of awful--Char-Broil Water Smoker and a pork shoulder. At the time, I had no real idea what I was doing. I had never even used a grill before, much less a smoker. I had no experience with any sort of flame that wasn't coming out of the top of my stove.

I had absolutely no tools. No digital thermometers. I just used the built-in thermometer on the grill and checked the meat every couple hours with a regular ole kitchen meat thermometer. I remember hitting the stall and having no idea why the damn temp wasn't going up and staying stuck around 155 for about 4 straight hours.

It was a waking nightmare. But damn was that meat tasty when it fell apart at the end.

And I felt very proud of myself.