Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Hiya, Oneshotxn here ...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hiya, Oneshotxn here ...

Hi, I'm Rick and I go by Oneshotxn which is part of my philosophy in life. I am always willing to try new things twice: Once to try it and a second time to make sure it won't kill me. Since I got older and discovered what pain really is, I've toned down to giving new things a one shot try. If I like it I keep on one shotting it until infinity.

I live just a tad bit north of Detroit Michigan in a suburb called Madison Heights. My day job is with a local automotive company.

I've like barbecuing pretty much my whole adult life, but in 2005-2006 I got introduced to "true" smoked meat. I new I found my forever love - BBQ Ribs!. After too much dithering on how to go about doing 'smoker stuff' on a charcoal and/or a propane grill for a year or so, I got my first smoker, a GOSM from Wally World on clearance for less than $80. That thing lasted until 2012 (RIP). I replaced my original GOSM with another propane 'Big Block' GOSM from Landmann.

Before discovering AR, it never occurred to me to try anything else but propane as a fuel source and a food source other than chicken wings and ribs. So I am giving charcoal a shot with my Akorn. Large learning curve, but I'm getting there. I've expanded to pulled pork, a turkey (first one in 2015), and bacon wrapped most anything .

I joined AR after a couple of months ghosting the site. I've always maintained that if I use something more than twice and had good results, then I should support it. All you guys really opened up my eyes on improving technique and trying new things.

Thanks for letting me on board!

-Rick