Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Wichita Newbie

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Wichita Newbie

Hi. Greetings from Wichita, Kansas, yeehaw!

I confess that AmazingRibs.com has been a go-to site for a number of years, but I felt that that I ought to contribute by joining the Pitmaster Club. I have often recommended AmazingRibs to fellow barbeque nuts, including to a company group devoted to grilling. As an engineer, I enjoy the science, which permeates everything on the site.

My wife and I both are avid cooks. We both enjoy trying new techniques, but she sticks to the indoor stuff. I have enjoyed barbeque for years. My dad had both an old beat-up square sheet metal charcoal grill on wobbly legs, and a Japanese hibachi pot (similar to Kamado Joe or BGE) which he brought from Japan as an Air Force loadmaster on C-124 cargo planes back in the 1960s. I always loved being around when he was cooking out, and so when I left home, I bought a used wobbly-legged square metal grill at a garbage sale, which I used for a few years until someone stole it. Relieved to be rid of it, I replaced it with a Weber kettle, and then added a vertical barrel smoker from the Coleman factory store here in Wichita. That was 40+ years ago, and I still have the Coleman, although the Weber has been upgraded to a newer version. I bought a Vision Grill, similar to my Dad’s hibachi pot about 10 years ago.