Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

New smoker in California

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New smoker in California

Hi guys, I'm new to smoking and have found that it's not nearly as prevalent in CA as it is back where I grew up, Texas. I was given a Vision Grill Classic B for my birthday from my parents, and since then I've tried beef ribs, pork ribs, brisket, and chicken. I've found controlling this thing is a total nightmare and found this site in my research on how to control the grill better, and then became addicted to the information that's available.

Since then I've ordered the BBQ Guru CyberQ Wifi to help me get a handle on the grill. I figure using it with lots of heat tolerant caulk I'll start being able to smoke at the temps I'd like. Plus I looked at returning the grill to Sam's Club, and paying the extra for a Big Green Egg, Primo etc and decided (for now) keeping my gift grill and adding the controller is the cheaper option and maybe the best overall.

On a side note, I'm a very logic based person who got his degree in how to test people scientifically though controlling for each variable to determine how much each variable affects the outcome. This includes building 80 variable neural networks to simple A/B tests. I'm a pretty accomplished cook in the kitchen, everything from gas grilling to Creme Brulee to Sous Vide. Though Sous Vide is still a new experiment and I'm so looking forward to combining it with smoking.

I look forward to learning more from everyone.

Welcome Christobol! I like logic too. I like delving into the root of things, whether it's grilling or anything else in life and seeing how it affects me, what's the best, and what's merely under-informed or misinformed tradition.