Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Brewing and bottling...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Brewing and bottling...

In the interest of keeping the brewing talk alive here, I thought I'd share some of my favorite tools for bottling beer!

I'm also a bit new to The Pit. Having been a homebrewer for at least a decade, I have a bit of helpful advice for anyone getting into homebrewing. I'm going to post links to items at Northern Brewer, but note you can source most of this stuff at many other places; always check with your local home brew source (LHBS) if you can. Northern Brewer (and Midwest Supplies) just got bought out by InBev/AB, so if you don't like the big-name breweries owning everything in your hobby, definitely shop elsewhere!

I still bottle. Not because I want to, but because I still don't have the space to do kegging. I agree with others that kegging is definitely the way to go, but you really need to start out doing bottles, as brewing is a hobby with quite a bit of turnover. It takes a few hours to brew, then weeks and even months to be able to taste the results of your work. Many people will "empty the pipeline" during these early batches, and have to wait months more to try more beer. If you keep the pipeline filled (brewing a new batch every couple of weeks), you'll always have some of your own beers to drink, and you can get better at your craft. Just like BBQing! This is harder to do with a limited amount of kegs, though, and you're always limited to the number of taps you have. With bottling, if I want a Scottish 70 ale today, but a stout tomorrow, I just have to pop a couple in the fridge. I can keep twenty different beers in the fridge cold, if I want!