Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

need advice on a affordable home vacuum packaging machine for sous vide

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

need advice on a affordable home vacuum packaging machine for sous vide

ok guys, you were all very helpful in recommending sous vide machines so as expected I need advice on a good home vacuum packing machine. Thanks all, btw went with the joule sous vide, love it

I have a Vacmaster Duo 550 that is a chamber vac and a suction vac for things that won't fit in the chamber like large fish fillets. I love it but it runs between $5 and 6 hundred bucks. Like most things you get what you pay for with vac sealers.

Comment

The FoodSaver products tend to work well and seem to be reliable. I bought one of THESE 2 years ago and it has worked flawlessly as it's been used at least several times a week. It's not a chamber sealer ... nor is it nearly expensive as one ... but it gets the job done, especially for sous vide purposes.

Comment

Don’t forget good old ziplock bags. While I have a vacuum sealer I still use ziplocks quite a bit for SV and save the sealer for later freezing.

Comment

• Skip
          Skip commented
          Editing a comment
          +2 on the Zip Lock Comments.I have a Foodsaver but use Zip Locks for SV often.

• wcpreston
          wcpreston commented
          Editing a comment
          I have a foodsaver but put my vacuum bags in a ziplock for sous vide, after having a leak in a long cook

• MattSayar
          MattSayar commented
          Editing a comment
          wcpreston I usually go for a double- or triple-seal to help with the leaks. Hasn't failed me yet.