Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Dry Brine - How long is too long?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Dry Brine - How long is too long?

Pit,
    I am planning on having a group of people over tomorrow for dinner and am making pulled pork. At noon today (8/28) I finished trimming and dry brining a 6lb bone in butt that I was planning on throwing on at 6AM tomorrow (8/29). Because of last minute scheduling issues 2 of the 3 guests of honor have asked to postpone until Friday (8/30).
    Can I just let the shoulder dry brine for an additional 24 hours in the fridge on top of the 18 I had planned? I've never done a dry brine over 24 before and have no idea how this will affect things. I'd love to hear any feedback on what could go right or wrong.
    If this is an issue I can just throw it on around noon Thursday, go real low and slow, then depending on when it's done either faux cambro or shred, fridge and re-heat. My preference would be to serve freshly pulled pork.
    Cooking on a Weber with a slow and sear, this will be my 11th cook on this set up so once it's rolling I'm in my comfort zone. Sunny 80's no rain for the next few days so weather isn't a concern either.

I like to go 24 - 48 hours minimum for thick hunks of meat like butts. You will be fine. The extra time just allows the salt to penetrate deeper into the meat.

Comment

I do 24-48 hours as well. I've never gone much longer than that, because I've read on this site that pork will taste "hammy" from too much curing. I'm sure someone soon will either confirm or disconfirm that.

Comment

• Huskee
        Huskee commented
        Editing a comment