Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

"5-at-5"-butt-smokin’

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

"5 at 5" Butt Smokin’

Up at 5:30am to get started and it was 5F outside. My only other pork butt smoking was with a 2.5lb boneless one from Fresh Market that was netted. Netting sucked, took too much bark off when I removed it. That was on my 22” kettle using the snake method. So this is my first attempt with a full (but small - 5.6lb) butt, and on my 26” with SNS. Trimmed it (no knife skills, ugh) and started dry brining it yesterday at 11am. Made my first batch of MMD after that. Lit my starter coals at 5:30am this morning, Weber briquettes this time, I do believe they burn longer and they were on sale. I then decided to cut it in half. Poorly. Thought it’d be easier to handle and maybe get a little more bark due to more surface area. Got the rub on, coals were ready, filled up the SNS and topped it with some applewood chunks. Given the freezing temps, pulled the SNS about 1” away from the side of the kettle - tip from Huskee. Put the meat on the grate at 6am. Got my probes in, pretty sure that could’ve been done better as well but I didn’t feel bone and it was dark and I was cold and I think they’re in the center of the thickest parts. Set up the iGrill 2 ambient for a range of 270-300F hoping to shorten up the smoke (will shoot for 275F), and the 2 meat probes for 203F. Snapped a couple pics and closed it up with the dome vents opposite the SNS at 6:10am. Going to enjoy the rest of this hot coffee (Pete’s holiday blend) and adjust my dampers and vents when it gets to around 260F. Will post more pics of the results tonight... fingers crossed. As always, looking for constructive criticism, tips, etc.

Attached Files

Looks like you will be good