Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Competition half chicken

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Competition half chicken

I am new to the competition world and have been charged by my team to perfect our chicken recipe. The last two competitions we did require half chickens. I will say that it has been hard to find much info on competition half chickens since most everything is geared toward KCBS. I am trying to come up with the best method for getting a really juicy chicken. It seems that the general consensus is to brine the chicken, but I am wondering if I should also allow it to sit in a faux cambro for about 30 minutes after cooking. If I should, would I need to do it before saucing and then add sauce and finish right before turn in? Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Welcome to the PIT!
    I would say no to the cambro. Would think you would lose your crispy skin. Experimentation sounds like the thing to do. Good luck and keep us informed.

Comment

Half's cook pretty much the same as thighs, x2 on no cambro, suggest looking at the rule book on pre brine, or pre prep. it may not be allowed. Are you cooking low and slow or hot and fast?

Comment

• WestDawg
        WestDawg commented
        Editing a comment
        I have been cooking hot and fast, about 325 to 165 internal.

Personally I don’t Cambro turn in 1/2s. I do brine as long as possible. I like Oakridge game changer. I trust my butcher for rubs if you know what that means. I try and time my cook to come offthe smoker right into the box.
      Last edited by Jon Solberg; February 13, 2018, 05:38 PM.

Comment

Dry brine and use a PBC!

Comment

Click image for larger version

Name:	687790BC-5993-4019-A9F0-2733D0A25E0A.jpeg
Views:	275
Size:	203.9 KB
ID:	454737