Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Reverse Sear or Sear-and-Move...Need Help!!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Reverse Sear or Sear-and-Move...Need Help!!

Looking for advise on the best method; is it the same for both burgers and steaks ( such as strip steaks)? Everything I read lately recommends the reverse sear method, however I'm not sure if this is simply the "flavor of the month"? I've been experimenting and given that I am a novice to grilling, I'm questioning the method (albeit I'm sure it's inexperience on my part.). Are there any proponents to the sear-and-move method? Thanks!

The reverse sear is very popular with most here, and has been for a good & long while. It's what I recommend. Am not familiar with the sear and move method. Is that sear first, then put in a cooler spot? Still, I recommend a low temp bake, then sear, at least on thicker steaks.

Comment

Thick steaks, reverse sear. You can use the cold grate method if you want. Thin steaks, just sear, but keep flipping so that the opposite side gets an opportunity to cool.

Comment

Thanks TheCountofQ...yes; sear first then move to indirect heat. I'm just looking for guidance and know I alwAys find it here!!

Comment

Thanks JCGrill!!

Comment

I always front-sear burgers now, since I feel the quicker cook keeps 'em a tad more moist, and that crunchy sear crust with toasted buns and a just-done juicy interior is unreal.. Really thick steaks I'll reverse sear, but lately I've been reverting back to front-searing them too if they're 1" or under. Personally I prefer them to have less smoke in the taste than what revsere sear give 'em, so this works for us.

Comment

• ecowper
              ecowper commented
              Editing a comment