Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Big Bad Beef Rub Question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Big Bad Beef Rub Question

I am making my first brisket this weekend and will be using the Big Bad Beef Rub. I enjoy some heat, but my family usually stays away from spicy food. How hot will my brisket be using this rub? And what might be a good replacement for the chipotle/cayenne powder if its too hot?

Btw I've been using the site for a few months now and my bbq skills are growing every week. Thank you!!
    (also my first post so my apologies if I posted this in the wrong place)

I will be cooking on a Big Green Egg

I don't find the rub spicy at all due to the chipotle/ cayenne as the quantiles are quite small. If you apply the rub heavily, you will get a pretty strong taste of pepper, which I happen to like. I would use the rub as is first, but apply quite lightly. Then you decide how you like it.

Comment

Welcome Geekandproud the rub isn't spicy

Comment

i found it a bit hotter than i wanted especially if you put it on liberally. i tend to replace one of the chili powders with paprika.

Comment

• DeusDingo
          DeusDingo commented
          Editing a comment
          i forgot to mention that you should use pepper from a grinder and medium course. if you use normal pepper like you put in a pepper shaker it will be too much pepper

• purp
          purp commented
          Editing a comment
          Another good replacement: ancho chili powder, if you can find it. It's still got that chili flavor, but is significantly (10x) more mild.

Fun: many popular peppers on the Scoville scale — https://www.thespruce.com/hot-chile-...-scale-1807552

Only way I've gotten heat is a heavy application on the sides.

Comment

• HouseHomey