Welcome!

This is a membership forum. As a guest, you can click around a bit. View 5 pages for free. If you would like to participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

There are 4 page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Two happiest days in a boat owners life.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Two happiest days in a boat owners life.

Ok, as you may have noticed Mrs. H and I have bought a house on a lake. We'll be buying some kind of boat for this place. Reaching out to the Pit for assistance as I have no prior power boating experience.
    We have a boathouse with a lift. Want to be able to haul friends, maybe up to 10. Also will be fishing. Thinking a pontoon or deckboat no bigger then 20'. We'll need to go under a couple of bridges to get to the main lake. One has only 5' 4" clearance. I am close to retirement so I certainly will NOT be waterskiing but may pull a tube or something like that.
    Good golly there is a whole lot of boat info and manufacturers out there. Can anyone recommend a good brand? Or possibly one to stay away from? New or used? I know, I know, "What's your budget?" Thinking no more then $30k. But hoping less. A lot less Thank you for your assistance.

Boating is big out here (seattle) but I'm not into it so my main advice is to hit up a boat show if you can and there's one within a reasonable distance. A show of any real size will have a lot of boats you can actually get into and check out and, of course, a ton of different dealers and manufacturers.

My one real comment is that 20' feels small for a group of 10. 4-6? Sure. Two upfront, two on the sides, two in each corner. 10? No.

Brands - look for long lived brands like Bayliner. You can sometimes find great deals used, but, as with anything, beware of awesome deals that feel to good to be true.

Also, take a boating safety course. Boats are not cars on water.