Welcome!

This is a membership forum. As a guest, you can click around a bit. View 5 pages for free. If you would like to participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

There are 4 page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Top Damper.. When to open, when to close?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Top Damper.. When to open, when to close?

I'm still learning how to use my new Stumps and the DigiQ. I'm just a bit concerned about using the top damper on the smokers. On my electric, I leave it full open. On my offset, full open and I still get plenty smoke in the chamber and the food. With the gravity, I'm concerned that I'm losing too much smoke with the damper wide open. Last nite, I did some chicken quarters with the damper wide open. Near the end of the smoke, I closed the damper almost 80% and found it put a lot more smoke on the chicken although the IT on the chicken was 150F. I've read that meat doesn't absorb smoke past 140F so I may have been late with my adjustment.

I was wondering what you guys think? I kept the ball valve full open on the Stumps and used the middle setting on the DigiQ.

Any advice would be welcome!

Cman60, there's actually no time or temp limit on smoke absorption, only on the formation of the 'smoke ring' which is merely color and not flavor. Check out Meathead's Smoke Ring Mythbusting article for further info on the ins & outs of smoke and how it behaves.