Welcome!

This is a membership forum. As a guest, you can click around a bit. View 5 pages for free. If you would like to participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

There are 4 page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

General advice needed

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

General advice needed

So Friday, around 7pm, I will be serving Brisket and Pulled Pork to 25-30 people at a family gathering. I am still pretty new at this, having great success with side and back ribs, rolled loin roasts, and turkeys; mediocre results with Pulled Pork (haven't planned cooks well enough to take the meat past 190) and no experience with brisket.
    I have a 15lb AAA Brisket (Canadian equivalent of Choice with a few extra restrictions) and a 16lb Pork Shoulder. Assuming a Faux Cambro period of 1-4 hours, I am going to plan on finishing the cook by 3pm, which gives me a solid 2-3 hour buffer in case something goes wrong. Doing my best to keep temps in 225-250 range on a 26 inch kettle, two water pans and very little lid lifting. I have an open air shop to deal with weather, I am bunking at the cook site, and plan to start the cook some time around midnight.
    A) What would you budget for time?
    B) What do you do when your minion burns down, remove the meat and rebuild?
    C) Any other watch outs from experience?
    Thanks guys.
    Jeff

A) always budget 1.5 hours per pound of meat. And if you are truly concerned about the timing crutch it all around 140* IT to avoid a bad stall. And remove it from the foil around 180* IT to allow it to harden the bark again (IT = internal temp)

B) My minion hasn't ever burnt all the way down during the cook. If you ran into that problem you could rebuild it. But adding more coals during the cook would be the best solution. Unlit coals right on top of the lit ones.